Vol. 145, No. 35 — August 27, 2011



The Governor General, the Right Honourable David Johnston, in his capacity as Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order of Canada, has appointed the following persons, who have been recommended for such appointment by the Advisory Council of the Order of Canada.

Officers of the Order of Canada

André D. Bandrauk, O.C.

William Buyers, O.C.

The Honourable Herménégilde Chiasson, O.C.

Lorna Crozier, O.C.

Alain Lefèvre, O.C., C.Q.

Terence Macartney-Filgate, O.C.

Denis Marleau, O.C., C.Q.

Bob McDonald, O.C.

Maureen O’Neil, O.C.

Viola Robinson, O.C., O.N.S.

Maureen Sabia, O.C.

Peter Alexander Singer, O.C.

Annette Verschuren, O.C.

Hayley Wickenheiser, O.C.

(see footnote *) Ronald G. Worton, O.C.

Members of the Order of Canada

Arnold Aberman, C.M.

Shirley Bear, C.M.

Jeanne Besner, C.M.

Anita Best, C.M.

John M. W. Bradford, C.M.

The Honourable Patricia Carney, P.C., C.M.

Vera Dewar, C.M.

Joan Donald, C.M.

Frank F. Fagan, C.M.

Mary Lou Fallis, C.M.

Edra Sanders Ferguson, C.M.

Jean-Claude Fouron, C.M.

Marie Gignac, C.M.

John H. V. Gilbert, C.M.

Malcom Gladwell, C.M.

Dorothy Griffiths, C.M., O.Ont.

Paul Valdemar (Valdy) Horsdal, C.M.

Frederick Hyndman, C.M.

Frederic L. R. Jackman, C.M., O.Ont.

Ruth E. Kajander, C.M.

Josef Kates, C.M.

Pierre Lavoie, C.M., C.Q., M.S.M.

Eugene Levy, C.M.

Pierre Maranda, C.M.

Robert Y. McMurtry, C.M.

Alvaro Morales, C.M.

Larry Nelson, C.M.

Pierre Nepveu, C.M.

Samantha Joan Nutt, C.M., O.Ont.

Nino Ricci, C.M.

Bernard Saladin d’Anglure, C.M.

David William Shannon, C.M., O.Ont.

David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

F. Thomas Stanfield, C.M.

W. Brett Wilson, C.M.

Witness the Seal of the Order
of Canada as of the twenty-sixth day
of May of the year
two thousand and eleven

Seal of the Order of Canada


Secretary General
of the Order of Canada




The notice published on page 864 of the March 12, 2011 issue of the Canada Gazette, Part I, is hereby amended as follows:

From the Government of France

National Defence Medal, Silver Echelon with clasp “Arme blindée et cavalerie”

to Colonel Michael Pearson Cessford

Deputy Secretary and
Deputy Herald Chancellor



The Chancellery of Honours announces that the Government of Canada has approved the following awards to Canadians:

From the Government of France

Order of the Academic Palms (Commander)

to Mr. Benoît Pelletier

Order of the Academic Palms (Knight)

to Mr. Ghassan Helou

    Mrs. Eliane Camerlynck

    Mr. Laurier Fortin

Order of Agricultural Merit (Knight)

to Mrs. Laura Calder

From the Government of Germany

Federal Cross of the Order of Merit

to Mrs. Helene Maria Bolte

From the Government of Poland

Order of Polonia Restituta (Officer’s Cross)

to Mr. Bogdan Idzikowski

Order of Merit (Officer’s Cross)

to Dr. Frank Dimant

 Mr. Walter Perchal

From the Government of the United States of America

Legion of Merit (Officer)

to Brigadier-General Douglas C. Hilton

Deputy Secretary and
Deputy Herald Chancellor


Footnote *
This is a promotion within the Order.